Goodness: A Mother’s Day Tribute

The week before Mothers’ Day has proven to be a really fun time in the shop!  I’m lucky enough to live just 40 miles away from my Mom, but I still love seeing all the different kinds of mother-daughter shopping duos, now or any time of year.

I’ve also been doing my own mental version of the fun blog My Mom the Style Icon. My favorite story to tell about one of our Spring shoes  (Jeffrey Campbell’s “Goodness” in Tan Khaki, above) is that my mom always wore similar loafers throughout my childhood — and I thought they were horrendous.  Always a tomboy, I went through a long “punk” phase, then a “hippie” phase, before settling into the aesthetic life of a sort of 70’s bohemian rock & roll groupie.  Everything in my closest is black or an animal print, and probably covered with buckles or fringe — and some sequins and crochet details thrown in for special occasions. My combat boots and Chuck Taylors came and went.  Mom’s Bass loafers never went anywhere.  Still haven’t.

Now here I am all grown up (sort of), and my go-to shoe this spring has turned out to be the underdog.  This little Jeffrey huarache.  It’s a little crunchy, a little nerdy, and incredibly soft and comfortable. It’s reliable, stylish, beautiful. It’s modern and classic all at once.  The moral of the story: Mom’s always right.

One response to “Goodness: A Mother’s Day Tribute

  1. Matthew Weaver

    When I was a kid my mother would constantly drag me to thrift stores, Good Will, and a myriad of other bargain basement clothiers. I didn’t so much as hate or despise her for it (I understood we didn’t have a lot of money and she struggled to put any sort of clothing on my back) but more so I was disappointed. I was also embarrassed. Now here I am thirty something years old; and despite my occasional jaunt to Levis, or (meh!) Target, those places that I despised are now my favorite places to shop. And you’re right! Moms are always right; however unintentional their guidance and influence may be. Love you ma! Happy muddahs day.

Leave a comment